What is a Vegetarian | The Vegetarian Society

A vegetarian diet can include…

A vegetarian diet does not include…

  • Vegetables and fruits
  • Grains and pulses
  • Nuts and seeds
  • Eggs
  • Dairy products
  • Honey
  • Meat or poultry
  • Fish or seafood
  • Insects
  • Gelatine or animal rennet
  • Stock or fat from animals

In addition, a vegan diet does not include eggs, dairy or honey.

Vegetarians and vegans don’t eat products or by-products of slaughter. They don’t eat any foods which have been made using processing aids from slaughter.

For a technical definition and more detailed information read this European Vegetarian Union position paper.

European Vegetarian Union position paper

Related topics

Interested in becoming a vegetarian?

Join our community today!

How could we make this page better?

Your Name (optional) Your Email Address (optional) Feedback

fbpx

Sign up for our newsletter

The Vegetarian Society has updated its cookie policy. We use third-party cookies to personalise content, provide social media features, and analyse our traffic to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on The Vegetarian Society website.

Want to know more?

Source

Articles or Tasting Review

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*